[Irtalk] Announcement of the winner and runners-up of the Open Access Award for Developing countries!

Febian Kakana fabian.kakana at unza.zm
Wed Jan 11 15:59:09 SAST 2012

Congratulations, Ina for the great contributions you have made towards OA from Africa. You are our mentor. 

University of Zambia

----- Original Message -----
From: "Aristarik Maro" <aristarik at gmail.com>
To: "Elsabe Olivier" <Elsabe.Olivier at up.ac.za>
Cc: irtalk at lists.lib.sun.ac.za
Sent: Tuesday, January 10, 2012 10:54:11 AM
Subject: Re: [Irtalk] Announcement of the winner and runners-up of the Open Access Award for Developing countries!

On Jan 9, 2012 1:25 PM, "Elsabe Olivier" < Elsabe.Olivier at up.ac.za > wrote: 

Dear Colleagues 

Congratulations to Ina Smith from Stellenbosch University, who was announced as one of the runners-up of the Open Access Award for Developing countries! See EIFL e-mail below for more details. 

The winner of the inaugural award is Dr Francis Jayakanth of the National Centre for Scientific Information, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India. 


Elsabe Olivier 
Manager: Open Scholarship 
NDLTD Board Member 
Department Library Services 
Office 4.16.1 
University of Pretoria 
South Africa 

Tel.: + 27 12 420 3719 
Fax: +27 362 5182 
E-mail: elsabe.olivier at up.ac.za 
Skype: elsabe.olivier 

This message and attachments are subject to a disclaimer. Please refer to www.it.up.ac.za/documentation/governance/disclaimer/ for full details./Hierdie boodskap en aanhangsels is aan 'n vrywaringsklousule onderhewig. Volledige besonderhede is by 
www.it.up.ac.za/documentation/governance/disclaimer/ beskikbaar. 

>>> On 2012/01/02 at 12:00 PM, < eifloa-request at lists.eifl.net > wrote: 

Message: 1 
Date: Sun, 1 Jan 2012 15:12:47 +0200 
From: Iryna Kuchma < iryna.kuchma at eifl.net > 
Subject: [EIFLoa] EPT OA Award Announcement 2011 
To: eifloa < eifloa at lists.eifl.net > 
<CAHZoB7Zne-YR8fQjtb1SEVaSfj3p+wWi27Ws-ejyuJnY0= L8rQ at mail.gmail.com > 
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="windows-1252" 


[Forwarded message from Ept ept at biostrat.demon.co.uk ] 

*Press Release January 1st 2012* 


*The Electronic Publishing Trust for Development is pleased to announce the 
winners of a new annual award to be made to individuals working in 
developing countries who have made a significant personal contribution to 
advancing the cause of open access and the free exchange of research 
findings. * 

We received 30 proposals from organisations in 17 developing countries on 
four continents, naming individuals who have worked hard to promote Open 
Access and who have achieved substantial progress. The selection of a 
single winner was extremely difficult as we received nominations for so 
many individuals who have made impressive strides by any or all of the 
following means:- 

- establishing OA institutional repositories; 

- setting up or encouraging conversion to OA journals; 
- achieving establishment of OA mandates requiring research to be OA on 
publication, or other policy developments; 
- advocating OA via seminars, publications, workshops, videos; 
- training others in the technology of setting up IRs; 
- preparing and establishing e-learning projects; 
- working towards the acceptance of Creative Commons licensing 
arrangements for research publications; 
- developing software for use in OA practices. 

Because of the high standard of the applicants, we have decided to name a 
single winner, but also to recognise three other individuals who were very 
close runners-up. All will receive a certificate and the winner will 
receive in addition an engraved plaque in the next few weeks. 

We are very happy to announce that the winner of the inaugural award is *Dr 
Francis Jayakanth* of the National Centre for Scientific Information, 
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India. Dr Jayakanth played a 
significant role in the establishment of India?s first institutional 
repository (IR) ( http://eprints.iisc.ernet.in ). He now manages the IR and 
has provided technical support for establishing IRs in many other 
universities and institutes in India. He has been the key resource person 
at many events to train people in setting up IRs and OA journals. He has 
delivered presentations on IRs, OA journals, the OAI protocol, OAI 
compliance, the benefits of OA to authors and institutions and the role of 
libraries. He has developed a free and open source software tool (CDSOAI), 
which is widely used. 

*The Indian Institute of Science is the most prestigious institute in ** 
India** and its IR now holds >31,400 records, making the century-old 
institute's research far more globally visible than before. The University 
Grants Commission in **India** has been impressed by the IISC?s IR and has 
directed all universities in **India** to replicate this effort*. 

Francis Jayakanth can indeed be considered an OA ?renaissance man?, an 
advocate and technical expert in all aspect of Open Access development and 
an inspiration to all, both at the research and policy level. 

The EPT is proud to congratulate Dr Jayakanth as our first Award winner. We 
believe this Award and the example of our first winner will inspire many 
others and lead to similarly impressive nominations in 2012. 

The runners-up for this award were (in alphabetical order): 

- *Ina Smith*, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa; 
- *Tatyan Zayseva*, Khazar University, Azerbaijan;* 
- Xiaolin Zhang*, National Science Library, Chinese Academy of Science. 

The EPT wishes to congratulate them and *all* who have been proposed, since 
without exception they have made a significant personal contribution to the 
sharing of research findings across the world. We will be sharing some of 
their stories and successes on our blog over the next few weeks. 

Electronic Publishing Trust for Development 
Web site http://www.epublishingtrust.org 
Ept Blog http://www.epublishingtrust.blogspot.com 
-------------- next part -------------- 
An HTML attachment was scrubbed... 
URL: http://www.eifl.net/pipermail/eifloa/attachments/20120101/0806652a/attachment-0001.html 


eifloa mailing list 
eifloa at lists.eifl.net 

End of eifloa Digest, Vol 50, Issue 1 

Irtalk mailing list 
Irtalk at lists.lib.sun.ac.za 

Irtalk mailing list
Irtalk at lists.lib.sun.ac.za

More information about the Irtalk mailing list