[Irtalk] Announcement of the winner and runners-up of the Open Access Award for Developing countries!

Elsabe Olivier Elsabe.Olivier at up.ac.za
Mon Jan 9 12:09:09 SAST 2012

Dear Colleagues
Congratulations to Ina Smith from Stellenbosch University, who was
announced as one of the runners-up of the Open Access Award for
Developing countries! See EIFL e-mail below for more details. 
The winner of the inaugural award is  Dr Francis Jayakanth of the
National Centre for Scientific Information, Indian Institute of Science,
Bangalore, India.
Elsabe Olivier 
Manager: Open Scholarship
NDLTD Board Member
Department Library Services
Office 4.16.1
University of Pretoria
South Africa
Tel.: + 27 12 420 3719
Fax: +27 362 5182
E-mail: elsabe.olivier at up.ac.za
Skype: elsabe.olivier

This message and attachments are subject to a disclaimer. Please refer
to www.it.up.ac.za/documentation/governance/disclaimer/  for full
details./Hierdie boodskap en aanhangsels is aan 'n vrywaringsklousule
onderhewig. Volledige besonderhede is by 
www.it.up.ac.za/documentation/governance/disclaimer/ beskikbaar.

>>> On 2012/01/02 at 12:00 PM, <eifloa-request at lists.eifl.net> wrote:

Message: 1
Date: Sun, 1 Jan 2012 15:12:47 +0200
From: Iryna Kuchma <iryna.kuchma at eifl.net>
Subject: [EIFLoa] EPT OA Award Announcement 2011
To: eifloa <eifloa at lists.eifl.net>
<CAHZoB7Zne-YR8fQjtb1SEVaSfj3p+wWi27Ws-ejyuJnY0=L8rQ at mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="windows-1252"


[Forwarded message from Ept ept at biostrat.demon.co.uk]

*Press Release January 1st 2012*


*The Electronic Publishing Trust for Development is pleased to announce
winners of a new annual award to be made to individuals working in
developing countries who have made a significant personal contribution
advancing the cause of open access and the free exchange of research
findings. *

We received 30 proposals from organisations in 17 developing countries
four continents, naming individuals who have worked hard to promote
Access and who have achieved substantial progress. The selection of a
single winner was extremely difficult as we received nominations for
many individuals who have made impressive strides by any or all of the
following means:-

   - establishing OA institutional repositories;

   - setting up or encouraging conversion to OA journals;
   - achieving establishment of OA mandates requiring research to be OA
   publication, or other policy developments;
   - advocating OA via seminars, publications, workshops, videos;
   - training others in the technology of setting up IRs;
   -  preparing and establishing e-learning projects;
   - working towards the acceptance of Creative Commons licensing
   arrangements for research publications;
   - developing software for use in OA practices.

Because of the high standard of the applicants, we have decided to name
single winner, but also to recognise three other individuals who were
close runners-up. All will receive a certificate and the winner will
receive in addition an engraved plaque in the next few weeks.

We are very happy to announce that the winner of the inaugural award is
Francis Jayakanth* of the National Centre for Scientific Information,
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India.  Dr Jayakanth played a
significant role in the establishment of India?s first institutional
repository (IR) (http://eprints.iisc.ernet.in). He now manages the IR
has provided technical support for establishing IRs in many other
universities and institutes in India. He has been the key resource
at many events to train people in setting up IRs and OA journals. He
delivered presentations on IRs, OA journals, the OAI protocol, OAI
compliance, the benefits of OA to authors and institutions and the role
libraries. He has developed a free and open source software tool
which is widely used.

*The Indian Institute of Science is the most prestigious institute in
India** and its IR now holds >31,400 record
s, making the century-old
institute's research far more globally visible than before. The
Grants Commission in **India** has been impressed by the IISC?s IR and
directed all universities in **India** to replicate this effort*.

Francis Jayakanth can indeed be considered an OA ?renaissance man?, an
advocate and technical expert in all aspect of Open Access development
an inspiration to all, both at the research and policy level.

The EPT is proud to congratulate Dr Jayakanth as our first Award
winner. We
believe this Award and the example of our first winner will inspire
others and lead to similarly impressive nominations  in 2012.

The runners-up for this award were (in alphabetical order):

  - *Ina Smith*, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa;
  - *Tatyan Zayseva*, Khazar University, Azerbaijan;*
  - Xiaolin Zhang*, National Science Library, Chinese Academy of 

The EPT wishes to congratulate them and *all* who have been proposed,
without exception they have made a significant personal contribution to
sharing of research findings across the world.  We will be sharing some
their stories and successes on our blog over the next few weeks.

Electronic Publishing Trust for Development
Web site http://www.epublishingtrust.org
Ept Blog http://www.epublishingtrust.blogspot.com
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...


eifloa mailing list
eifloa at lists.eifl.net

End of eifloa Digest, Vol 50, Issue 1
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.lib.sun.ac.za/pipermail/irtalk/attachments/20120109/fa990bf9/attachment.html>

More information about the Irtalk mailing list